Energy Manager

2018 Energy Management Leadership Award winners announced

May 28, 2018 — The Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM), a forum promoting clean energy, recently recognized 50 organizations for their leadership in energy management through its 2018 Energy Management Leadership Awards.

May 28, 2018  By  Ellen Cools

On May 24, 2018, three companies received top honours during the 2018 CEM meeting in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The Award of Excellence in Energy Management was presented to An Garda Síochána (Ireland), PJSC Magnitogorsk Iron & Steel Works (Russia) and PT. Pembangkitan Jawa-Bali Gresik (Indonesia).

An Garda Síochána is the first national police force in the world to achieve ISO 50001 certification. Using an ISO 50001-certified energy management system across its transport fleet and at two of its largest sites, Garda headquarters and Garda College, the agency saved USD $11.3 million over eight years.

PJSC Magnitogorsk Iron & Steel Works (PJSC MMK), a steel producer and metallurgical company, established an ISO 50001 energy management system that delivers USD $20.5 million in annual savings with no financial investment. Overall, site savings over three years totalled USD $38.6 million.


Finally, PT PJB Gresik Power Plant operates a combined cycle power plant and four units of steam power plants to supply electricity to East Java. The facility implemented ISO 50001 to achieve government and internal goals; it saved USD $9.69 million over three years.

The CEM awards program highlights the energy, environmental and business benefits achieved when organizations invest in energy efficiency.

Collectively, the 50 honourees report annual energy cost savings of up to USD $383 million.

To qualify for these awards, one or more facilities within each organization established an energy management system and had it certified to the global ISO 50001 standard; summarized the process and resulting benefits; and submitted a case study for analysis. An independent panel of international experts selected the winners.

The 2018 award winners and their case studies are now available on the CEM website.

Print this page


Stories continue below