Energy Manager

EnerQuality 2011 awards honour commitment to energy efficiency

February 7, 2012 - EnerQuality has announced its 2011 Awards of Excellence winners, which recognizes individuals and businesses in construction "who have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to building high-performance, energy-efficient, sustainable new housing".

February 7, 2012  By  Alyssa Dalton

Minto Communities captured top honours when it was named 2011 Green Builder of the Year and 2011 Leader of the Year for “demonstrating innovation and excellence through labeling, marketing and sales and for its work in raising consumer awareness and empowering employees to embrace green building”.

“All 2011 winners represent Ontario’s best and brightest in sustainable building, and are making exciting things happen across the industry,” said EnerQuality president Corey McBurney. “We are privileged to work in an industry with so many true innovators and leaders guiding sustainable building now and for the future.”

Other winners include:

Empire Communities – Energy Star for New Homes Builder of the Year
The award recognizes the company’s “exceptional commitment” to energy efficiency by integrating labeling of its homes under the Energy Star for New Homes program.


• Gary Botelho – Energy Star for New Homes Champion of the Year
Empire Communities employee Gary Botelho was honoured for his “initiative, strong support and enthusiasm” for the program on behalf the builder.

Mason Homes – Best Green Marketing Campaign
The award recognizes “outstanding work” in integrating energy efficiency and a green message into an overall marketing program.

Gordon Tobey Developments – R-2000 Builder of the Year
The award salutes an “exemplary commitment” to building and labeling best-in-class energy efficient new homes under NRCan’s National R-2000 program.

Steve Snider Construction – Building Innovation and Excellence
The award is presented to an individual or business which demonstrates excellence and innovation while integrating green, energy efficiency building practices.

Owens Corning Canada – Industry Partner of the Year
This category recognizes commitment, leadership, advocacy, and innovation in the industry. Last year, Andy Goyda, market development manager of Owens Corning Canada, was honoured by EnerQuality and received the Leader of the Year award.

Homesol Building Solutions – Evaluator of the Year
Homesol Building Solutions, a provider of environmental and energy efficient building consulting services, received the award for its “commitment, leadership, advocacy, and innovation” in the field.

• Bruce Gough – Hall of Fame award
EnerQuality describes Ottawa architect Bruce Gough as a pioneer in energy efficient housing. “While Gough died in 2011 his passion, dedication and commitment to the residential construction industry will have a lasting impact in energy efficient housing in the province,” it said. Gough was also one of the architects of the Energy Star for New Homes program.

Print this page


Stories continue below