Energy Manager

Community Conservation Awards for East Gwillimbury, Hamilton and Markham

December 6, 2012 - Today the Town of East Gwillimbury, City of Hamilton and City of Markham in Ontario received a Community Conservation Award—a new award that recognizes Ontario municipalities for their commitment to energy-saving initiatives, community energy planning and strong conservation leadership.

December 7, 2012  By  Anthony Capkun

A collaborative effort led by the Ontario Power Authority (OPA) with the Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) and Electricity Distributors Association (EDA), the Community Conservation Awards are given to communities that demonstrate strong achievement in the following areas:

• Conservation leadership
• Innovation and market transformation
• Corporate/internal and community engagement
• Conservation achievements

“Ontario’s local distribution companies (LDCs) are proud to play a lead role in helping Ontario communities and families find ways to manage their electricity use,” said Charlie Macaluso, EDA president and CEO. “The award winners set a powerful example of how partnerships between municipalities and LDCs at the local level have led to innovative initiatives that have successfully engaged residents and businesses in conservation—with excellent results.”

Nine finalists, separated into three population categories, were selected by a judging panel consisting of OPA conservation specialists as well as five external judges who, according to OPA, are experts in the municipal conservation field.

“Today’s awards showcase the leadership municipalities are demonstrating by promoting, supporting and implementing energy-efficiency initiatives in their communities,” said OPA VP of Conservation, Andrew Pride.

The awards are open to all municipalities in Ontario. Participating municipalities in this year’s awards were required to provide a written submission that outlined their conservation efforts, as well as two recent case studies highlighting specific conservation initiatives.

“Congratulations to the finalists in this year’s Community Conservation Awards,” said AMO president, Gary McNamara. “AMO firmly supports our collective efforts to build a culture of conservation in Ontario. Municipalities are local leaders committed to reducing costs and doing our part to fight climate change. Conservation is a straightforward, common sense approach to help reach those goals.”

Print this page


Stories continue below