Energy Manager

The search is now on for Canada’s 50 Best Managed Companies 2011

June 30, 2011 - Monday marked the official launch of the call for applications for Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies program 2011. Now in its 19th year, the nationwide search continues for companies who are “demonstrating the power of being the best through their business excellence, calibre of management abilities and practices,” explained the organizers behind the program.

June 30, 2011  By  Alyssa Dalton

The Best Managed designation is an emblem of excellence and a source of pride for private companies, said organizers. Canadian-owned and managed private companies and public companies with fewer than 50% of their shares or units traded with revenues over $10 million are invited to submit their Phase One application towards earning a business award.

“We’ve been committed to fostering the success of Canadian companies since 1993 and today we call on businesses that embody the hallmarks of excellence to be recognized,” said John Hughes, partner, Private Company Services, Deloitte, and national leader of Canada’s 50 Best Managed Companies program. “We invite companies to apply and discover the power of the best, and continue to raise the profile of the great work being done by private companies.”

According to organizers, the application process delivers insights which can further strengthen companies’ business models. “It is an opportunity for companies to re-examine their processes, reenergize the organization, and look for new opportunities,” they said, adding that overall, the program provides participants with an exceptional opportunity to gain knowledge from some of Canada’s top business leaders.

New this year, the program has added a Gold Standard designation for companies that have maintained their designation after three consecutive years and demonstrated a commitment to the program, creating a four-tier award program:


• Best Managed winner: first time winners;
• Requalified member: repeat winners retaining designation for two years;
• Gold Standard winner: designation maintained after three consecutive years; and
• Platinum Club member: designation maintained for a minimum of six consecutive years.

The deadline for Phase One applications is 5:00 p.m. EST on September 23, 2011 and winners will be announced February 2012. Recognition of the achievement will take place March 27, 2012 during the Canada’s 50 Best Managed gala.

To determine if your company is eligible for Canada’s Best Managed Companies program and to submit the Phase I application form, visit or e-mail


Print this page


Stories continue below