Energy Manager

Canadian design awards to honour EIFS projects

December 3, 2018 - The Exterior Insulation and Finish System (EIFS) Council of Canada (ECC) has launched its 2018/2019 Architectural Design Awards Program to honour professionals who incorporate EIFS products into innovative projects.

December 3, 2018  By  Peter Saunders

ECC encourages architects and other design professionals across Canada to submit their recent EIFS projects for consideration. Grand-prize winners from previous years have ranged from condominiums to schools.

“We developed this program with the objective of creating a new benchmark in EIFS construction,” says John M. Garbin, ECC’s president and CEO. “The finalists and winners from the past few years have proven EIFS will help realize Canada’s national objective of creating resilient, sustainable and esthetically pleasing buildings.”

To be eligible this year, buildings must be occupied no sooner than Jan. 1, 2017, and no later than Jan. 31, 2019. There are five categories: low-rise residential; high-rise residential; commercial and retail; recreational and institutional; and renovation. This latter category, especially, would apply to buildings where energy managers have helped implement EIFS updates to increase building envelope efficiency.

Registrations to determine eligibility are open until Jan. 31, 2019. Then, all eligible applicants will prepare their final electronic submission packages by Apr. 12. The finalists will be announced on May 6.


Finally, a jury of industry experts will select each category’s grand prize winner and honourable mentions. The recipients will be honoured at an awards dinner in June. For full details, click here.

Print this page


Stories continue below