Energy Manager

Commercial Industrial News
Do you run on ISO 50001? Get CEM recognition!

October 13, 2016 - Does your organization have an ISO 50001-certified energy management system? If so, sharpen your pencil and get ready to compete for prestigious awards from the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM)!

October 13, 2016  By  Anthony Capkun

2016 recipients of the top energy management awards were honoured by energy ministers at the 7th Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM7). Left to right: representatives from Cummins

The 2017 CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards aim to raise global awareness of the benefits of energy management and accelerate uptake of these systems.

“Organizations are discovering that they can cost-effectively improve their energy performance by adopting an energy management system certified to the ISO 50001 standard,” said Graziella Siciliano, U.S. coordinator of the CEM’s Energy Management Working Group. “Recognizing organizations that pioneer this robust approach to energy management will inspire others to realize the energy, economic and environmental benefits.”

Industrial, commercial and public sector companies or facilities are eligible to enter the Energy Management Leadership Awards if they hold a current, 3rd party-verified ISO 50001 certificate.


To enter, each organization must submit a structured case study describing their energy management experience and the resulting benefits, which will be evaluated by an independent panel of international experts.

Top entries will receive the prestigious CEM 2017 Award of Excellence for Energy Management. These winning organizations will be recognized next year during the eighth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM8) meeting, which will be held in China and attended by energy ministers and corporate leaders from around the globe.

Beyond the Award of Excellence, each organization that submits a qualifying entry will receive an Energy Management Insight Award for helping to build global insight on the benefits of energy management systems. Top-ranked submissions from each country will also be communicated to the appropriate country governments, which may present national energy management awards of their own.

INTERESTED? Visit the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards website to learn more about the award rules, entry format, scoring, and recognition.

Submission deadline is January 24, 2017.

All accepted entries will be published online to highlight the range of benefits achieved through the use of ISO 50001-certified energy management systems. Award-winning entries from the inaugural 2016 awards program are featured on the CEM website and in the EWMG’s case study library, where case studies can be sorted by industry and country.

According to award organizers, facilities using energy management systems certified to ISO 50001 are realizing initial energy improvements of 10% or more through low- or no-cost changes in operating practices. It is estimated that worldwide implementation of ISO 50001 across service and industrial sectors could cumulatively cut energy use by 62 exajoules by 2030—saving more than $600 billion and removing the equivalent of 215 million passenger vehicles from the road.

This awards program was launched by the Energy Management Working Group (EMWG), a joint initiative of CEM and the International Partnership for Energy Efficiency Cooperation.

The EMWG leads the CEM Energy Management Campaign, a call to action urging governments, business, industry and other partners to use the ISO 50001 standard as a “transparent mechanism to demonstrate progress towards climate and energy goals”. The campaign aims to achieve 50,001 global certifications by 2020.

PHOTO: 2016 recipients of the top energy management awards were honoured by energy ministers at the 7th Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM7). Left to right: representatives from Cummins, LG Chem and New Gold. Photo courtesy CEM.

Print this page


Stories continue below