Energy Manager

Net Zero News Residential
Nominate Ontario’s housing innovators for 2016 EQ Awards

December 8, 2015 - EnerQuality—a certifier of energy-efficient homes—is seeking nominations for the annual EQ Awards, which recognize leaders in the homebuilding industry who have made energy efficiency a key feature of new homes.

December 9, 2015  By  Anthony Capkun

Each year, select builders, consultants and industry partners are honoured at the EQ Awards Gala. The 2016 event is being hosted at the Sheraton Parkway Toronto North in Richmond Hill, Ont., February 25.

“Over the last 10 years, Ontario’s homebuilding industry has made enormous strides to improve the energy efficiency of new homes,” said Corey McBurney, president of EnerQuality. “At the same time, we are looking to the future. We are in the middle of a really vigorous conversation about where we’re going with the energy efficiency in homes. The next 10 years might be the most transformational decade ever in residential construction.”

Awards are presented in a number of categories, including three new ones: Building Innovation (Mid- and High-Rise), and Net Zero Builder of the Year. EnerQuality has also reintroduced the R-2000 Builder of the Year Award.

The full list of awards include:


• Energy Star for New Homes Builder of the Year (Large Volume)
• Energy Star for New Homes Builder of the Year (Mid Volume)
• Energy Star for New Homes Builder of the Year (Small/Custom)
• Energy Star for New Homes Champion of the Year
• Building Innovation Award (Low-Rise)
• Building Innovation Award (Mid-/High-Rise)
• Best Green Marketing Campaign
• Green Renovation Project of the Year
• Evaluator of the Year
• Leader of the Year
• Hall of Fame
• Net Zero Builder of the Year
• R-2000 Builder of the Year
• Enbridge Gas Distribution’s Savings by Design Award
• Union Gas’ Optimum Home Award

Know someone who is worthy of an EnerQuality award? Don’t delay and nominate them today. The deadline is January 20, 2016. Winners will be announced live at the EQ Awards Gala on February 25.

The EQ Awards Gala follows the EQ Housing Innovation Forum, where delegates will discuss the future of homebuilding, including new requirements in the Ontario Building Code and Energy Star for New Homes taking effect in 2017, as well as the next generation of government and utility programs.

Print this page


Stories continue below