Energy Manager

Features News
Open! CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards 2021

June 21, 2021  By  Anthony Capkun

June 21, 2021 – The Clean Energy Ministerial says the Energy Management Leadership Awards program is now accepting submissions for the 2021 competition.

Any facility or organization holding a current ISO 50001 “Energy management systems” certificate from an accredited body is encouraged to enter. In fact, the Clean Energy Ministerial runs this global contest to raise awareness of ISO 50001-certified energy management systems and the benefits they provide.

Now in its sixth year, the competition has recognized achievements by 200 organizations with certified systems in 105 countries or economies and across 50 sectors, including cement, iron and steel, chemical manufacturing, power plants, airports, municipalities, healthcare systems, and hospitality companies.

Past awardees credit the competition with increasing senior management support for further investment in additional energy savings, says CEM.


“[The United Nations Industrial Development Organization] salutes all industry leaders who work to continually improve their energy performance,” said Tareq Emtairah, UNIDO. “By recognizing these companies who lead by example, the Energy Management Leadership Awards pave the way for many more organizations to adopt a robust energy management system and reap environmental and business benefits.”

To enter the competition, each organization must submit a structured case study describing its energy management experience and the ensuing benefits. These case studies enable companies at all stages of familiarity with ISO 50001 to tell their unique stories and share tips or best practices. All submissions are evaluated by an independent panel of international experts.

The top entries will receive the CEM 2021 Award of Excellence in Energy Management. All other qualifying entries will receive an Energy Management Insight Award for sharing the diverse benefits of energy management systems.

In addition, some national governments offer their own energy management awards based on the CEM case study submissions received from their country.

The submission deadline is 16 August 2021. Interested parties are invited to visit the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards website to learn about the competition rules, entry format, scoring, and recognition.

“Energy management systems can efficiently lower energy demand and reduce costs to customers and businesses,” said Dan Dorner, Clean Energy Ministerial Secretariat. “The CEM community values the Energy Management Leadership Awards very highly, and looks forward to the 2021 edition.”

CEM suggests that broad global adoption of ISO 50001 across service and industrial sectors could lead to cumulative energy savings of about 105 exajoules by 2030, saving more than $700 billion US in energy costs and avoiding 6500 million metric tons of CO2 emissions.

The Clean Energy Ministerial is a “high-level global forum to promote policies and programs that advance the deployment clean energy technology”.

Print this page


Stories continue below